The Colours of Spring

It is pretty hard not to feel cheery with all of the colours of spring around us now. Daffodils are probably the best example of what spring is about. They come to their own in March and my garden is bursting with so many. I planted a good number of these bulbs in autumn last year and I have been rewarded with a fabulous display. I even helped some of my friends who were novices in gardening pot up a few containers. Making  the most of empty containers, pots, and old hanging baskets I had, I am thrilled with what I have achieved.

I have clumps of the smaller variety Narcissus Tete-a-tete,  several single flowered and quite a few doubled flowered ones. The colours also vary from golden yellow and orange to pale yellow and almost white varieties.

image

Enter a caption

Daffodils make an impression regardless of whether they are in pots or in the ground. The beauty of planting daffodil bulbs is that after you plant them you have to literally do nothing until they spring up months after. If you plant in pots you need to ensure the pots do not dry out and are somewhere where rain can naturally water them, otherwise you don’t need to worry about them.

image

The great daffodil appeal takes place every year in March and for any who don’t live in the UK, it is a big fundraising appeal for a charity which funds Marie Curie nurses (www.mariecurie.org.uk ) . These nurses take care of terminally ill patients and do a fantastic job. I can see why the daffodil flower would be chosen at the lowest point in many people’s lives. The cheery colours of daffodil can lift the spirit, even if only momentarily. When I think of spring, I think of colours, not just yellow or white, but orange, green, purple, blue, white, pink and so much more. What colours do you think of when you think of spring?

 

Tip: Visit  garden shops in  August and September to buy bags of daffodils and plant in early October

Leave a Reply

